Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand Six Hundred Minutes

As I sit here in the gazebo quietly watching the rain fall on the lake I find myself thinking about the incredible work we do at SLC. This weekend over 600 folks ventured to camp…some for our Spring Shabbat and the Bar Mitzvah of Max Kaufman (Mazel Tov), some for Parent Camper Orientation and others for the Alumni Overnight…..SLC is more than a camp it is a haven.  For 111 years (in case you missed the hype last year was 110) we have been providing countless kids with the foundation that they will rely on for the rest of their lives.  Our programs, now year round, have built this incredible community…a community that is loving, caring, supportive and nurturing.  We don’t have the bells and whistles that some other places have but we have heart, soul and compassion.  We give the intangibles..the gifts that money can’t can’t buy.

The year I graduated college the NYPD came to recruit, I always wanted to be a police officer and in 1986, there were not as many women in blue, but I wanted it.  I came home and told my “Nana” that this is what I want to do….she said to me, ” Sheryla, you can  get hurt….you can do so many things, I don’t think this is a good idea.”  I never listened to anyone, except my Nana….so I took a pass.  Often times I think that it was a mistake to listen,  I would have had 20 years in and been retired at this point. Retired , pension, summers off….oy! My cousin, who is on the job and I respect assures me I would have been a “Boss” and still working, and that statemnet means the world to me.  I would have made a difference there, but would I have had the impact on lives that I am now realizing I have had?  The answer is no….Over the years, I run into former campers who thank me for things I have no recollection of doing.  Campers who are now raising families, and sending their kids to camp.  As ususal, my Nana was right….I belong here….camping….it’s all I know….I can sell it….cause I believe in it…it changed my life…the life of my kids, my family and thousands of others. I am who I am…..because of camp.

Today we had well over 200 families come and tour camp.  Our staff was incredible, it may have been raining but the SUN was shining here at camp.  The parents and campers hung on every word. They toured, played and left  eager anticipating what lies ahead for this summer.  I know the value of camping and JCC’s…it saved my life as a teen…gave me my Jewish identity…

I know that this summer we have yet another opportunity to build future leaders (our staff and our campers) and I am blessed to be a part of it.  Surprise Lake Camp is the best in Jewish Camping and we change lives every day…..if your child is not here….ask someone what SLC means to them.  Everyone who comes here leaves with skills that they carry with them forever.

As much as I am enjoying the silence here and now in the gazebo…..I can not wait for the day when the buses pull in….the sounds of laughter and awe…..mixed in with crickets and bullfrogs.

Happy Camping my friends!

Sheryl

Most of our campers live 10 for 2!….That’s how they measure a year….others do it this way….feel free to sing!

Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Moments So Dear
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
How Do you Measure – Measure A Year ?
In Daylights – In Sunsets
In Midnights – In Cups Of Coffee
In Inches – In Miles
In Laughter – In Strife
In – Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
How Do You Measure
A Year In The Life
How About Love ?
How About Love ?
How About Love ?
Measure In Love
Seasons Of Love
Seasons Of Love
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Journeys To Plan
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
How Do You Measure The Life
Of A Women Or A Man ?
In Truths That She Learned
Or In Times That He Cried
In Bridges He Burned
Or The Way That She Died
It’s Time Now – To Sing out
Tho` The Story Never Ends
Let’s Celebrate
Remember A Year In The Life of Friends
Remember The Love
Remember The Love
Remember The Love
Measure
In Love
Measure Measure Your Life In Lov
Seasons Of Love …
Seasons Of Love

Leave a Reply

