In my life……

There are places I remember
All my life, though some have changed.
Some forever, not for better.
And some have gone, and some remain.

All these places have their moments
with lovers and friends I still can’t recall.
Some are dead and some are living.
In my life I love them all.

But of all these friends and lovers,
there is no one compares with you.
And these memories lose their meaning
when I think of love as something new.

Though I know I’ll never ever lose affection
for people and things that went before,
I know I’ll often stop and think about them.
In my life I love you more.

Though I know I’ll never ever lose affection
for people and things that went before,
I know I’ll often stop and think of them.
But in my life I loved you more.
I love you more.
I love you more.

Every time I sit down to write a blog, a song pops into my head.  Perhaps there is medication that will quiet the noises in my head….and perhaps this is not the appropriate forum for the medication discussion!  Anyway, rather than fight it, I am going to go with the flow.  This song has been covered by many people over the years, but the Bette Midler medley is the one that sticks out in my head.  I should really find out who wrote it so I can give appropriate credit and avoid blogger prison!

OK…back to the song.  The first time this song really moved me was when I was on Teen Council at the Samuel Field Y.  It was our end-of-the-year party and there was a slide show.  (Not the digital kind we now have now.  Back then it was a carousel with slides that needed to be clicked to keep up with the 8 track or cassette that was playing!)  Anyway, it was really moving.  All the members.  All the memories.  And it’s something I remember all these years later.

So you’re asking once again, “Sheryl, what is the point of your rant… oops… I mean blog this week?”

That’s easy my friends.  This blog is about those moments and those memories that have touched your life and have had a lasting impact.  And chances are, if you are reading this blog, Surprise Lake Camp and the memories you created there have had a long lasting impact.

We now have less than five days until our annual fundraising campaign comes to a close.  I know most people are in a difficult financial situation and I understand that.  Did you see how Clooney’s telethon raised $57 million?  That is because a lot of people made small donations.  Please consider helping Surprise Lake Camp before the deadline!  Every dollar counts.  And the magic and memories you are helping to create are priceless.

2 comments

  1. this is a Beatles song!
    written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney.

    Like

    1. Yes it is and covered by many!

      Like

Leave a Reply

