Tis the season….

It is hard to believe that tonight we light the first candle for Chanukah!  We move through the seasons so quickly – in the blink of an eye!  I remember when I was a kid, time just seemed to move so much S-L-O-W-E-R.  Perhaps it was because, as a kid, I took the time to enjoy life.  No harried pace. . . I played, I went to school. Ahh…  I miss those days!

I am not so sure that children growing up today enjoy the laid back pace that I had.  I mean, really . . . there were fewer pressures.  No texting, no computers, no IM, only eight TV channels to choose from.  When I think about it, it wasn’t that long ago, and yet it seems like another world!

At camp we give kids the ability to be kids again.  No cell phones, no computers, no screens.  They get the chance to develop social skills, independence, self esteem and a whole lot of other important tools they need to be successful.  An environment that fosters growth in a safe, nurturing environment.

In these trying economic times, many families are having difficulty sending their children to camp.  Others are having difficulty keeping food on the table.  I am proud that Surprise Lake Camp was there for the families who needed us this year.  There were many.

Won’t you please partner with us in our mission to help these families?

I am asking for your help as someone who cares about children and knows the value of a sleepaway camp experience.  Can you please make a contribution to our annual fundraising drive?

I know that times are tough, and that many people are out of work. Some people won’t be able to make a gift this year; others will need to give less. But most people can still afford to share their blessings with others, and if you are fortunate enough to be able to do so, please join me in sponsoring a child.  Every dollar makes a difference.

Bless you for your support of SLC and for your kindness in helping those who really need it.

One comment

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by sponso RING, sponso RING. sponso RING said: Tis the season…. « Surprise Lake Camp Blog: But most people can still afford to share their blessings with others, and i http://url4.eu/uhkI […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

